The Flood Mitigation Assistance grant is a competitive grant program providing funding to states, local communities, federally recognized tribes, and territories for projects to reduce or eliminate risk of repetitive flood damage to buildings insured by the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

Eligible Uses

Funds may be used for cost-effective projects that reduce or eliminate the risk of repetitive flood damages to property insured by NFIP. Project categories include: project scoping, technical assistance, flood mitigation projects, management costs, and more. Specific project types may include: acquisition, relocation, elevation, reconstruction, dry-proofing, restoration of floodplains, soil stabilization, living shorelines, and more.

Eligible Recipients

States, tribes, and territories are eligible to designate one agency to serve as the applicant for FMA funding and each applicant may only submit one FMA grant application with an unlimited number of sub-applications. Applicants must have a FEMA-approved State or Tribal Hazard Mitigation Plan. Sub-applicants can include local governments, cities, townships, counties, special district governments, state agencies, and federally recognized tribal governments that choose to apply as sub-applicants. Homeowners, business operators, and non-profit organizations may be included within sub-applications. All sub-applicants must be participating in the National Flood Insurance Program and be in good standing to be eligible. Sub-applicants must also have a FEMA-approved Local or Tribal Hazard Mitigation Plan.

Approx Annual Funding Amount

Typically, $150 million – $200 million is available annually; however, the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law provided $3.5 billion over the span of five years for this program ($700 million/year for Fiscal Years 2022-2026).

Cost Share Requirements

Generally, there is a 75% federal share with a 25% non-federal match. For severe, repetitive loss properties, FEMA may contribute 100% federal cost-share. For repetitive loss properties, FEMA may contribute 90% federal cost-share. For projects located in socially vulnerable communities, the federal cost-share is 90%. In-kind contributions are accepted.

Application Cycle


  • Summer: NOFO published
  • Fall: Application Period Opens
  • Winter: Application Period Closes
  • Winter/Spring: Application Review
  • Summer: Project Selections


State Hazard Mitigation Officers

Other Info

This program is covered under the Justice40 Initiative